RSS Feed

Timber Flooring vs Engineered Timber Flooring

Posted on

flooring 1

I am currently in the process of deciding on the type of flooring to have in our new home once it is built.
After having had a timber floor in our current home I was determined that this was the best option this time arouns, hard wearing, looks good e.t.c. but the dilemma started when I decided to go for a dark chocolate coloured timber and lets just say I am now completely undecided which way to go so I need some help from anyone out there that has used engineered timber flooring.
Solid timber floors are just what they sound like, solid timber boards with a variety of finish options from satin to high shine. These are typically more expensive than pre finished or engineered floors and have the option of being able to be sanded and re-finished a number of times over the life of the floor.
Engineered flooring is a usually timber fascia board of a thinner thickness attached to a manufactured interlocking board. You will have to excuse my descriptions here, flooring expert I am definitely not, but the idea of the engineered flooring is quicker install, no mess and less chance of warping, the downside apparently is that you do not have the option of multiple sanding and re-finishes.
So here is my dilemma. Apart form the obvious cost difference (solid timber being more expensive) the solid timber needs to be sanded and then stained to the desired colour, which will take days and be quite messy also. Engineered flooring on the other hand is cheaper and quicker to install and has the desired colour without staining. So I am looking for some guidance here, who out there has used the engineered flooring and how did you find it? how does it compare with the solid timber products? I am looking at a few of the  engineered options and am seriously tempted, so any ideas to help me out with this decision would be much appreciated?

Madge x

flooring 2flooring3flooring4

2 responses »

  1. Hi there Madge, I’m not exactly an expert either but with a few renovations under my belt I can advise a little! I do know that engineered floor comes in different thicknesses, the more expensive versions having a thicker wedge of the actual wood before the plywood layer underneath. So if you use these, there is enough there to resand a few times in the floor’s life. Good luck in your search!
    Katie

    Reply
    • Thanks Katie,
      That’s a real help. I had been told this but it’s nice to hear from someone that’s actually used it themselves and know that it’s true.
      Thanks so much.
      Madge

      Reply

Leave a Reply

